Helping Developers Sell Themselves

8iFY.com is chock full of ideas for web developers to escape the nine-to-five grind and make money for themselves.

It’s not the sack of get-rich-quick B.S. that usually plagues the web. No, it’s practical advice for earning a few extra bucks on the side, becoming comfortable with branding and selling your skills, and maybe someday escaping wage slavery. It’s the brainchild of my good friend Brandon Corbin, who is a wealth of knowledge and experience on the subject.

I’ve been known to have an opinion or two about being honest, authentic and transparent when selling yourself or anything else. So I contributed a few words of advice to the 8iFY blog this week.

Here’s an excerpt, but you should really click through to read the whole thing and check out the rest of 8iFY’s practical tips while you’re at it:

There aren’t many things that scare me, but one of them is non-dairy creamer.

Another is tofu. Soy burgers and soy milk too… or soy anything really, because we all know that soy is actually a bean. Meat that looks and tastes like meat but isn’t really meat is kinda freaky.

Which leads me to our first lesson.

Lesson #1: Human beings are instinctively suspicious of the inauthentic.

A thing that claims to be something it’s not is called inauthentic, and it triggers mistrust in people. This is a survival instinct. We must be able to recognize the wolves who pose as sheep.

[read on…]

This entry was posted in Business, Entrepreneurship, Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helping Developers Sell Themselves

  1. Thanks for the love Jesse! Keep up the great blogging

    P.S. I think you should go with MailChimp and start growing a mailing list 🙂

    • jkurth says:

      I couldn’t agree more! I also want a tweet stream in my sidebar, an RSS button and links to all my social media profiles.

      Guess I’d better brush up on my hacking…

Leave a Reply

