The Time of Your Life

There may come a time when I stop passing along profound tidbits of wisdom from Roy Williams’ Monday Morning Memos, but that would probably mean either I’ve stopped blogging altogether, or Roy’s worthy life has met a worthy end.

Speaking of which, here’s the kicker from today’s memo:

My friend Don Kuhl is one of the world’s leading experts on how change happens. A couple of weeks ago Don said something on the telephone that I hastily scribbled down: “Change is not an event. It’s a tiny decision made over and over again. Change isn’t once. It’s daily.

I recorded Don’s words because I heard in them an echo of the note my father scribbled to my sister and I as he struggled for one last breath in his final 60 seconds: “All the little things in life add up to your life. If you don’t get it right, nothing else matters.

If you define fun as reckless, heady abandon spiraling upwards to climax in an intoxicating sense of personal freedom and power, then no, I’m not having any.

But if you define fun as the little things in life that add up to your life, nursing a child, doing without, paying the price for what you believe, then I would have to say that I’m having quite a time.

The time of my life.

Roy H. Williams

Roy wrote this memo because someone asked him if he was having any fun. He decided the term could use better definition.

What’s yours?

This entry was posted in Entrepreneurship, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

